The #1 mapping solution for WordPress sites
Ready-to-use with free maps & free geocoding

Support / Knowledge Base

Search
Generic filters
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in excerpt
Filter by Custom Post Type
User Guides
Articles
FAQs
References
  • User Guides
  • Articles
  • FAQs
  • References
  • Helpdesk



Account and license management

Affiliates

Configuring settings – Geocoding

Configuring settings – Layers

Installation and setup

Managing Tools – Import and export

Miscellaneous

Translations

Using APIs

Working with maps – Clustering

Working with maps – Filters

Working with maps – GPX tracks

Working with maps – List of markers



Configuring settings – Geocoding

Configuring settings – Layers

Miscellaneous

Translations



Account and license management

Affiliates

I want to promote Maps Marker Pro with links and banners on my website. Do you have an affiliate program?

Yes, we do.

When you join our affiliate program, you will be supplied with a range of banners and textual links that you place within your website. When a user follows the links from your website and buys something at mapsmarker.com, you will earn a commission. We’ve got commissions up to 50% and three-tier-levels with 5% commissions for each level.

Check out the details at mapsmarker.com/affiliates.

0
0
19
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.


Configuring settings – Layers

Can Maps Marker Pro also display weather maps?

Maps Marker Pro allows you to use all kinds of maps which are available via WMTS or WMS standard. Those custom layers can be added via Settings / Layers / Custom:

A community curated list of custom layers an be found at https://mapsmarker.com/custom-layers 

For dedicated weather layers, please have a look at https://gis.stackexchange.com/questions/6345/listing-available-online-wms-services-weather-land-data-place-names for a starting point – many of those may be configured to be used in Maps Marker Pro too.

0
0
5
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.


Installation and setup

How to uninstall Maps Marker Pro

If you want to uninstall Maps Marker Pro, please login with an admin account to your WordPress site, navigate to Plugins and first deactivate Maps Marker Pro:

As next step, please click on “delete”:

As next step, please confirm the deleting by clicking “OK” (attention: all created maps and markers will also be deleted and there is no possibility to undo this action, unless you restore a backup!)

If you also want to have your customer account and license on our servers deleted as well, please open a support ticket.

0
0
1
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Is Maps Marker Pro compatible with Gutenberg / WordPress 5.x?

Yes, Maps Marker Pro is compatible with WordPress 5 and the new Gutenberg editor. For general minimum requirements of Maps Marker Pro please see this FAQ.

For a future release we also plan to add a custom map block, which allows you to easily search and add shortcodes for maps (until then you need to copy and past the shortcode for a map into a block):

Step 1 – copy the shortcode, e.g. from the map edit page

Step 2 – paste the shortcode into the Gutenberg editor, which results in automatically creating a shortcode block

0
0
8
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_OBJECT_OPERATOR in maps-marker-pro.php

Plugin could not be activated because it triggered a fatal error.
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_OBJECT_OPERATOR in /wp-content/plugins/maps-marker-pro/maps-marker-pro.php on line 66

If you see the error above when trying to activate Maps Marker Pro, this usually means that the PHP version used on your server is too low. 

Maps Marker Pro requires at least PHP 5.4 to run properly, anyway as PHP 5.4 is already outdated and does not receive updates (including security fixes!) anymore since September 2015, we stronlgy recommend to a currently supported PHP version (7.x).

To fix this, please either switch your PHP version through your hosting control panel if possible or contact your hosting provider support to switch the PHP version for you.

 

0
0
7
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

What are the minimum requirements for Maps Marker Pro?

In order to be able to install Maps Marker Pro, the following minimum requirements have to be fulfilled:

  • PHP 5.4 or higher (7.0 or higher is recommended)
  • WordPress 4.5 or higher or ClassicPress.
  • For verifying the license key, your server needs to be able to connect to www.mapsmarker.com via port 443
0
0
18
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Will Maps Marker Pro work on WordPress.com hosted sites?

No. The WordPress.com hosted platform does not allow to install additional plugins, making it impossible to install Maps Marker Pro. Maps Marker Pro only works on self-hosted WordPress installations.

0
0
21
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Can I install Maps Marker Pro on a WordPress MultiSite installation?

Yes, installing Maps Marker Pro on a WordPress MultiSite installation is possible. Just keep in mind, that the license model is domain based, so if you are using subdomains for your multisite installation you need to activate a license per domain. If your subsites are accessible on subdirectories on your main domain though, only the main site has to be activated.

You will find detailled information and a tool tool to propagate your license to your subsites on the license settings page.

0
0
13
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

How can I rollback to an old version of Maps Marker Pro?

If you have any issues after an update, please open a support ticket. It the issue is severe and affecting all users, we will immediately start working on a hotfix which we make available as soon as possible (usually within 12-24 hours).

If you want to switch back to an old version until this fix is available, please download a former version from https://www.mapsmarker.com/updates-pro/archive/ and overwrite the plugin files on your server in the directory /wp-content/plugins/maps-marker-pro/ (v4+) or /wp-content/plugins/leaflet-maps-marker-pro/ (v3.1.1 or lower).

Please DO NOT uninstall and reinstall the plugin to rollback to an old version, as uninstalling the plugin will also delete all map data!

0
0
21
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Is this plugin compatible with WordPress multisite?

You need at least a single license to also install Maps Marker Pro on a WordPress multisite instance. The pro version even includes some additional admin tools which allows you to propagate the license key or custom settings to all subsites.

0
0
15
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

I would like to use this plugin on wordpress.com

Unfortunately this is not possible at the moment, as plugins for wordpress.com are selected by automattic. Nethertheless you can write an email to plugins@wordpress.org and ask if this plugin could be included in the future (which I would very much appreciate 😉 )

0
0
16
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.


Miscellaneous

Does Maps Marker Pro support shape files?

Currently with v4.0 shape files/shp are not supported – we play to add support though for a future release (no release date yet available).

If you want to keep up to date with the latest Maps Marker development, please subscribe to our news via RSS, follow @MapsMarker on twitter or on Facebook.

0
0
9
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

I would also like to use this form – is the source code available as open source?

Yes, actually I even built a WordPress plugin which you can download at http://wordpress.org/plugins/bitcoin-order-form-for-mapsmarkercom/ The code is also available on Github at https://github.com/robertharm/bitcoin-order-form

Please be aware that this plugin is customized for MapsMarker.com and has not options to customize the products in the backend. I shared the code for developers in order for them not having to re-invent the wheel but to only change some form parameters in the code if they want to use a customized version on their sites.

0
0
15
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Can I try a live demo of the Maps Marker Pro?

Yes: Test Maps Marker Pro live at https://demo.mapsmarker.com, where you’re allowed to login to the backend and test the admin pages of Maps Marker Pro before purchasing a license or starting a free 30-day trial on your server.

0
0
20
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.


Pricing

I want to sell your plugin. Do you have reseller discounts?

Yes, we do. We’ve got a program that allows you to resell licenses at a 20% discount. If you’re interested in reselling Maps Marker Pro, kindly visit mapsmarker.com/reseller.

0
0
35
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Can I try a live demo of the Maps Marker Pro?

Yes: Test Maps Marker Pro live at https://demo.mapsmarker.com, where you’re allowed to login to the backend and test the admin pages of Maps Marker Pro before purchasing a license or starting a free 30-day trial on your server.

0
0
20
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

If I don´t like to use Maps Marker Pro anymore, can I get a refund?

No, sorry, you can’t. To avoid buyer’s remorse, please feel free to thoroughly try before you buy:  Maps Marker Pro offers a free 30-day trial without any hidden costs, allowing you to test whether the plugin fits your needs and runs on your hosting environment. Should any questions appear during that time, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us.

0
0
24
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

So… the unexpiring license key does really mean I can use Maps Marker Pro forever after I purchased a license once?

Yes, that’s how we do it. We don’t force you to renew, but we work hard on making you want to renew your license for our frequent updates, up-do-date versions and extra-loving support.

0
0
32
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Will I have any obligations after the free 30 days trial period?

No, absolutely not. You can test Maps Marker Pro’s full features 30 days for free without taking any risks. After 30 days, the plugin will simply stop working unless you enter a valid license key. (If you have upgraded from the free lite-version, you can switch back to it.)  

Please note that we never share your data with any third parties – see our privacy policy for details on our moral code.

0
0
22
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Can I switch back to the free version without data loss?

Yes, if you used the pro upgrader to start a free 30 day trial and want to roll back to the free version after your 30 day free trial has expired, this is possible without data loss.

Since Maps Marker Pro v4.0 which features a complete rewrite and does not share any codebase with Leaflet Maps Marker anymore, a rollback from free to pro is not possible anymore as it was possible before with Maps Marker Pro v3.1.1. As both plugins use different database tables, you can switch between those two versions at any time though – changes in pro version will not be reflected in the free version anymore though since Maps Marker Pro v4.0.

0
0
21
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Will I be able to reuse my map data when upgrading from the free version?

Yes, with Maps Marker Pro you will be able to use marker and layer maps created with the free version of the plugin, as your map data gets migrated to the Maps Marker Pro database schema.

0
0
21
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Can I use this plugin within a commercial context?

Yes, you can use Leaflet Maps Marker and Maps Marker Pro within a commercial context. Anyway it is required that the attribution links for the licence conditions of the used maps don´t get removed from each map shown through the plugin on your website. 

Maps Marker Pro is not licensed under GPL 2.0 but can of course also be used within a commercial context. The pro version also allows you to remove the backlinks to MapsMarker.com – please check out the terms of service for more details.

Depending on geocoding or basemap providers which require additional registration, additional requirements may apply, please check the ToS of the external providers before signup for more details.

0
0
29
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.


Resellers

I want to sell your plugin. Do you have reseller discounts?

Yes, we do. We’ve got a program that allows you to resell licenses at a 20% discount. If you’re interested in reselling Maps Marker Pro, kindly visit mapsmarker.com/reseller.

0
0
35
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.


Troubleshooting

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_OBJECT_OPERATOR in maps-marker-pro.php

Plugin could not be activated because it triggered a fatal error.
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_OBJECT_OPERATOR in /wp-content/plugins/maps-marker-pro/maps-marker-pro.php on line 66

If you see the error above when trying to activate Maps Marker Pro, this usually means that the PHP version used on your server is too low. 

Maps Marker Pro requires at least PHP 5.4 to run properly, anyway as PHP 5.4 is already outdated and does not receive updates (including security fixes!) anymore since September 2015, we stronlgy recommend to a currently supported PHP version (7.x).

To fix this, please either switch your PHP version through your hosting control panel if possible or contact your hosting provider support to switch the PHP version for you.

 

0
0
7
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

“For development purposes only” error on Google basemaps

If you see the error “For development purposes only” on your map using Google basemaps, please open your browser console (e.g. by pressing the key F12 in Firefox or Chrome) and switch to the “Console” tab e to see more details about the error:

In the example above, the error is NoApiKeys, which means the mandatory Google Maps Javascript API key is missing.

Anyway most errors are related to your Google Maps Javascript API key, which is needed in order to display Google Maps properly.

So to fix this, please proceed as follows:

  1. make sure you registered a Google Maps Javascript API key, see tutorial for details. Please also make sure that you have saved your credit card details in the Google API console, which is needed since the Google ToS changes from summer 2018.
  2. if your error is RefererNotAllowedMapError please re-check step 6 from the tutorial and make sure you set the your accepted referrer for the domain where the map is embedded is configured correctly, like *.yourdomain.com/*

For all other errors please have a look at the error reference at https://developers.google.com/maps/documentation/javascript/error-messages#deverrorcodes where you will also find a possible solution.

If this still does not help, please open a support ticket and we will be glad to help.

0
0
10
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Error “Failed to send request” when trying to migrate to v4

This error indicates that there are some issues with your AJAX configuration respectively wp-admin/admin-ajax.php endpoint.

To verify this, please open the browser console (e.g. with F12 in Firefox or chrome), switch to the “Console” tab and reload the page and click on “Check migration” again to verify if there are any additional error messages:

If you do not see an error message there, please switch to the “Network” tab and reload the page and click on “Check migration” again to verify if there are any additional error messages:

From the screen above you see that the request failed with the Status (=HTTP error code) 404 – in this example, the file /wp-admin/admin-ajax.php was not available.

It is more likely though, that you will see Status 500 (= Internal Server Error) here. The 500 Internal Server Error is the general catch all error when the server throws an exception. It is the error message when no more specific error message is suitable and is in most cases directly related to a server misconfig or issue.

So what do now?

First, please try to temporarily disable all other plugins but Maps Marker Pro to verify that this issue is not caused by a plugin conflict.

If this does not help, please have a look at the server error log like PHP or Apache error log when that request is made and which might give you a clue why this error happens on your server.

If this still does not help, please check if one of the following tutorial can help you find the reasons for this server error:

If this still does not help, we´d advise to get in contact with your hosting support so that they can analyse why the request to /wp-admin/admin-ajax.php fails when trying to run the migration tool.

0
0
16
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Console error “MapsMarkerPro is not defined”

If your maps do not show up and your browser console is showing the error “MapsMarkerPro is not defined” please proceed as follows:

  1. If you are using any caching plugins, please try first to clear any involved caches.
  2. First check if this issue might be caused by a plugin conflict. To verify this, please temporarily disable all other plugins but Maps Marker Pro and try again.
  3. If this did not return any results, please verify if your template files include hooks for wp_head() in header.php and wp_footer() in footer.php (which are needed to properly load scripts and styles from Maps Marker Pro). 
0
0
8
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

“Error: map images could not be loaded” is displayed

If you see this error message instead of a map, this can have several reasons:

the most likely one is that the (external) tile server used is currently not available or has temporary issues (e.g. a maintenance window). Unfortunately we do not have direct influence on the availability of external tile servers Maps Marker Pro enables you to connect to in order to display map tiles. From our experience, OpenStreetMap is very reliable and those errors occur very rarely. 

Anyway as also stated in the error message, it could be that there are internet connection issues on the user side, which result in map tiles not being able to load, although the external map tile server is available.

The third reasons for this error – faulty map configuration – is usually only the case if you use custom tile server configurations (e.g. if you added a custom basemap which only shows map tiles for a specific area and you panned your map outside that area).

In case you experience this issue often with one selected tile service provider, you can try switching to another tile service provider for your map.

0
0
12
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

How to fix the incompatibility with the “Geo Redirect” plugin

The plugin “Geo redirect” allows you to redirect your visitors or switch language according to their country. Unfortunately there hasnt been an update since 2013 and using this plugin together with Maps Marker Pro is causing layer maps to break (as also the leaflet-geojson.php call which is needed to load the markers is redirected.

To fix this, please open the file /wp-content/plugin/geographical-redirect/geo-redirect.php

The find the code

    public function checkIfRedirectNeeded()
    {
        if (!is_array($this->geo_redirect_data))
            return;

and replace it with

    public function checkIfRedirectNeeded()
    {
        //info: do not redirect Maps Marker Pro requests
        $request_uri = $this->request_uri;
        if (stripos($request_uri, 'geojson') !== FALSE) {
            return;
        }
        if (!is_array($this->geo_redirect_data))
            return;

and save the file. As a result, layer maps should be working again.

0
0
16
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Geolocation error: Only secury origins are allowed / https is required

With Chrome 50+, Firefox 55+ and Safari 10+ significant changes to the geolocation support were introduced by the related browser vendors: all applications requesting the current position of the user (not just for Maps Marker Pro´s geolocation feature) are only allowed anymore to retrieve the current position of the user if the site is setup to be delivered securely via https – users will see the following or a similar warning instead:

geolocation-error-info

See more details about this decision by Google at https://developers.google.com/web/updates/2016/04/geolocation-on-secure-contexts-only. Geolocation will still work on non-https sites if the users access the site via alternative browsers like Firefox, Safari or Internet Explorer – anyway it could be likely that those browsers will also add a similar security restriction in the future.

Update November 2016: since iOS 10 also Safari 10+ now requires https to support geolocation. The implementation is even more strict than with Google Chrome – geolocation will not work for example if there are mixed-content warnings on your site.

Update 2017: Firefox 55+ also requires https for accessing geolocation (see details)

So if you need the Maps Marker Pro geolocation featue on your site (which with v2.7 even gets more usable as you can sort the list of markers based on the current position of the user), it is strongly advised to migrate your site to https. Some hosters already provide free https certificates from letsencrypt.org for example. For configurations needed within your WordPress site in order to configure it to support https, please have a look at tutorials like https://css-tricks.com/moving-to-https-on-wordpress/.

As https has more advantages for your site than just geolocation working again with Google Chrome 50+ and Safari 10+ (like securing the data integrity, sender authentication and user privacy as well as higher Google ranking as https is used as ranking signal), we strongly advise to switch your site to https only if you haven´t done so yet.

If you switched your site to https and still get a geolocation error (like “Geolocation error: user denied geolocation”), please check your device´s location settings if it is allowed for apps/web sites to retrieve the geolocation.

0
0
41
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

How to resolve the incompatibility with the Enfold theme by kriesi.at

Update 28. October 2016: the following workaround is not needed anymore if you are using Maps Marker Pro v2.8, Leaflet Maps Marker v3.11 or greater.

The popuplar Enfold theme by kriesi.at enqueues Google javascript on all admin pages, resulting in Google Autocomplete API (=address search) to break. To fix this, you have to completely disable the mapping functionality added by the theme:

open wp-content/themes/enfold/functions.php (respectively the functions.php from your child theme if you are using one) and add the following code at the bottom:

add_filter('avf_load_google_map_api', 'disable_google_map_api', 10, 1);
function disable_google_map_api($load_google_map_api) {
        $load_google_map_api = false;
        return $load_google_map_api;
}

More infos at http://www.kriesi.at/support/topic/google-maps-element-javascript-conflict-with-maps-marker-pro-plugin/

0
0
35
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

I do not see plugin update notifications about new versions

The Maps Marker Pro plugin checks every 12 hours if a new version is available. You can also manually trigger the update check by going to Plugins and clicking on the link “Manually check for updates” next to “Maps Marker Pro”:

manual-update-check

If you do not see the link “Manually check for updates” or clicking on it does not show the latest version available, please proceed as follows:

Please first check if you are using v1.5.9 or v1.6. With v1.5.9 delivery of plugin updates via SSL was added to increase security. Unfortunately we found that although this features works fine, there might be issues on servers with outdated or incomplete SSL libraries. This can prevent your plugin to communicate with mapsmarker.com to check for new plugin updates.

To fix this, please manually update to the latest version, which includes a workaround for those servers. To manually update your plugin, please download the latest package from https://mapsmarker.com/download-pro, unzip the plugin package and copy the files from the unpacked folder /leaflet-maps-marker-pro/ to your server via FTP, overwritting all files and subdirectories in the directory youdomain.com/wp-content/plugins/leaflet-maps-marker-pro/

Please note: if you would uninstall and reinstall the plugin through the WordPress admin interface, all created maps would get deleted on uninstall, so please do a manual update via FTP if you have already created some maps!

If updating to the latest version did not solve the issue, please ask your hoster for help. There might be special security precautions preventing your server from communicating directly with https://www.mapsmarker.com (GET requests, Port 443)

It could also be that your server only allows direct connection through a proxy (you can verify this if you are not receiving any WordPress core or plugin updates). If this is the case, the proxy server has to be configured in wp-config.php (please ask your hoster for details about your proxy):

define('WP_PROXY_HOST', '192.168.xx.xxx');
define('WP_PROXY_PORT', '8080');
define('WP_PROXY_USERNAME', 'my_user_name');
define('WP_PROXY_PASSWORD', 'my_password');
define('WP_PROXY_BYPASS_HOSTS', 'localhost, www.example.com');

If you are not using a proxy, and still not see the that there is a new plugin version available, please install the debug bar plugin from https://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/debug-bar/. This plugin allows you to debug the communication to the update server on mapsmarker.com. After activation of this plugin, click on Debug in the admin bar and select PUC (leaflet-maps-marker-pro) from the sidebar. Afterwards you can check the communication with the update server by clicking on the buttons Request Info and Check now:

debug-bar-steps

If you or your hoster cannot help you with the information retrieved from the debug bar plugin either, please open a support ticket and we will be glad to help you solving your issue!

0
0
27
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

“Error: a new local license key could not be obtained.” is shown after license activation

connect-error

If you see the error above after trying to activate your license key on the license settings page, this means that your server could not connect to https://www.mapsmarker.com for the license validation.

Please ask your hoster for help here. There might be special security precautions preventing your server from communicating directly with https://www.mapsmarker.com (GET requests, Port 443)

It could also be that your server only allows direct connection through a proxy (you can verify this if you are not receiving any WordPress core or plugin updates). If this is the case, the proxy server has to be configured in wp-config.php (please ask your hoster for details about your proxy):

define('WP_PROXY_HOST', '192.168.xx.xxx');
define('WP_PROXY_PORT', '8080');
define('WP_PROXY_USERNAME', 'my_user_name');
define('WP_PROXY_PASSWORD', 'my_password');
define('WP_PROXY_BYPASS_HOSTS', 'localhost, www.example.com');

If that also does not help, please open a support ticket and we will be glad to help you solving your issue!

0
0
12
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

When saving a marker I get the error “a marker with the ID 0 does not exist!”

This FAQ is only valid for Maps Marker Pro v3.1.1 or lower:

Please check if the database tables needed for Maps Marker Pro have been created by logging into your database tool (usually phpmyadmin) and checking if the tables

  • wp_leafletmapsmarker_markers and
  • wp_leafletmapsmarker_layers

exist. If yes, please turn on WordPress debugging (by adding define(‘WP_DEBUG’, true); to wp-config.php), also have a look into the PHP error log if possible and open a support ticket with the logged results.

0
0
13
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

starting point when using Google Maps directions is incorrect

By default Google Maps is used as directions provider for the directions link in the map panel and for the directions link added to the popuptext of each marker.

If you entered an address for your location, this address will be used for directions starting point, if you only entered latitude and logitude coordinates (and address field is empty), these coordinates are used as starting point for directions.

If you notice that your starting point on the opened Google Maps is incorrect, than is because Google by default always calculates the directions by using car as preferred transport method. So the nearest place to your location that can be reached by car is taken as starting point automatically.

Unfortunately this cannot be fixed on Google Maps, as this is not a bug but a feature 😉 – anyway there are several ways to deal with this issue:

– if you only rely on walking directions, you can navigate to Settings / directions settings / Google Maps directions settings and check the checkbox “Walking directions”.

– if that is not an option for you (roads for cars will be ignored with this direction), please navigate to Settings / directions settings / general directions settings and set a different directions provider like bing maps, which takes exactly the coordinates of your location and does not change the starting point.

0
0
33
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

HTML5 fullscreen mode does not work for maps in iframes

If you embedd a map with an iframe-tag, you have to add the following code to this tag for HTLM5-fullscreen-mode (pro version only) to work:

allowfullscreen=”true” mozallowfullscreen=”true” webkitallowfullscreen=”true”

0
0
27
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

I get the error “Map could not be loaded – please enable Javascript!”

Maps Marker Pro needs a browser which supports Javascript in order to display maps. Current version of common browsers (Firefox, Chrome, Internet Explorer or Safari) support Javascript out of the box – if you use an old version, please update to the current version (you will benefit from it in general, believe me!).

If this doesnt help, please check if you have same Javascript blocking addons/plugins like NoScript installed and active – those addons need to be disabled in order to show maps.

If this does not help either, please open a support ticket and we will have a closer look why your map is not being displayed.

0
0
106
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Known incompabilities with other plugins

With v2.1 of Leaflet Maps Marker, I added an automatic check for incompatible plugins and instructions how to solve corresponding bugs (if possible). If an incompatibility is found, an admin notice (and instructions how to solve this if available) is displayed in your WordPress admin area. This list is automatically updated on each new release.

0
0
27
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

ARCHIVE – Database warning “Found row where the auto_increment column has the value 0” (v3.1.1 or lower only)

This FAQ is only valid for Maps Marker Pro v3.1.1 or lower!

When using backup plugins like BackWPup or working directly in your database via phpmyadmin you might notice the following warning:

WARNING: Result of table check for wp_leafletmapsmarker_layers is: Found row where the auto_increment column has the value 0

This is generally nothing to worry about – the table wp_leafletmapsmarker_layers was designed to start with value 0 – changing this in order to suppress the warning is unfortunately not possible, as layer 0 is used for all markers which are not assigned to a layer.

0
0
22
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.


Working with maps – GPX tracks

Can tracks from fitness trackers be displayed on maps?

If your fitness trackers (like garmin fit) allows exporting recorded tracks as GPX format, those files can usually be also displayed on maps with Maps Marker Pro.

In order to display those tracks, create a new map, switch to the tab “GPX” and start by clicking on the “Open Media Library” button:

As next step switch to tab “Upload files”, select and upload your gpx file, finish by clicking the button “Choose”:

As a result, the GPX track is displayed on the map and you can optionally further customize its settings (switching to advanced editor for all options is recommended):

0
0
10
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Can I add multiple GPX tracks to a map?

You can only add one GPX file to a map – if you want to show multiple GPX tracks on one map, you have to merge those files first – you can use the online tool at http://joewein.net/bike/gpxmerge/ for this purpose.

Since v4.0 though multiple tracks within one GPX files are also supported and can be selected by the related controlbox in the elevation chart:

0
0
38
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.

Can I manually draw a GPX track on a map?

Manual creation of GPX tracks on maps will probably be added with a later release. In the meantime you can use services like http://www.gpsvisualizer.com/draw/ which allow manual drawing of tracks and exporting the result as GPX file – which you can display on your maps with Maps Marker Pro.

If you are having issues with this tool, you can choose another one which supports GPX export – an overview of drawing tools is available at https://wiki.openstreetmap.org/wiki/Track_drawing_websites

0
0
33
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.


Working with markers

Can I add custom map icons?

Yes, you can choose from more than over 1000 icons for markers from https://mapicons.mapsmarker.com – more instructions on how to upload and use new icons, please have a look at this userguide.

0
0
32
Rate this FAQ answer

Thanks for your feedback, please add a comment to help us improve this post.





For dedicated 1:1 support, please login to the customer area and open a new support ticket.